Crafting Sunday’s

As mentioned in my last post I’ve gotten seriously hooked on knitting and crocheting over the last year. I picked it back up again last Christmas to make some simple presents and since then I haven’t been able to stop, going from one project to the other, always looking for the next challenge.

Spending most my working days looking at a screen and batteling the daunting London commute, it’s a great way to wind down at the end of the day. I even bring smaller projects with me on the train as it’s a great way of passing the time that would otherwise be spent looking at another screen.

If you’re in need of a way to switch off and cleanse your mind then here’s some inspiration from my first projects to help get you started.

I’ve always wanted to knit a pair of socks (high lifegoals I know) so I made this my first project. As my previous knitting projects years-and-years ago had consisted mainly of hats and scarves I bought myself a bit of a knitting bible.

IMG_3454

These are 3 lovely books that I would highly recommend if you want to start knitting or crocheting, and luckily for me ‘The Knitting Book’ had an easy enough pattern for a pair of woolly socks!

IMG_3455

My second project was little mushroom keyrings that can also be used as Christmas tree decorations, these are from the ‘Cute & Easy Knitting Book’, they’re super simple to do and perfect for adding a little personal touch to your Christmas gifts!

IMG_6526

After this I wanted a bit of a challenge so I started playing around with the ‘lace stich’. I started small with a dish cloth just to practice, before starting a blanket, both from the same book as the mushroom keyrings.

Dish cloth

IMG_3453

IMG_3456After finishing the blanket I still had loads more yarn left so I made a set of matching coasters, perfect as a decoration or for the zillion cups of tea I go through on the weekend!

IMG_3452

Believe it or not, I still had yarn left after these so that’s when I started playing around with crocheting after picking up ‘A little course in Crochet’ from the Book People. A ‘granny square’ is a super simple first project if you’re new to crocheting and they’re highly addictive so it makes for a perfect project to carry around with your for whenever you have a spare moment. Granny squares can be used on their own as a coaster or when crocheted together can make for amazing throws, pillow cases, table runners etc. They’re also a great way to use up spare yarn leftover from other projects.

IMG_7409

I think I’ve done about 100 squares so far for this throw.. like I said.. totally addictive!

So if you’re looking for something to wind down with at the end of the day, or to pass the time with on an otherwise boring commute, pick up your needles and get crafting!

Cxx

