‘Tis the season

With Christmas around the corner and the weather turning colder, what better time to snuggle up on the sofa with a cup of hot chocolate and with knitting needles in hand.

This year I was asked to knit some baubles for for my bf’s mum and of course I happily took the project on! After a quick google online for patterns I found a book by the well known Norwegian knitters Arne & Carlos ’55 Christmas balls to knit’, perfect!

I downloaded the kindle version as I do some of my knitting on the train and having the patterns on my phone made it super easy to get the project done on the go.

I’ve knitted 22 baubles in total and must say they’re totally addictive! They take me about 1-3 hours each, depending on the pattern and I found myself getting much quicker after a few.

IMG_3548

I love the vintage look of knitted baubles, they make me think of snowy Christmas’s at home in Norway, with the smell of orange peel burning on the fire and a mug of Gløgg in my hands.

If you’re thinking about knitting a few of these for your own tree then I’d recommend starting with a simple heart as I found it the easiest and quickest one to do. Also, make sure you steam the bauble’s with an iron (place a clean cloth in between the iron and bauble) before stuffing as it really helps bring out the pattern.

If this post has inspired you to get knitting you can find ’55 Christmas balls to knit’ here.

Happy knitting!

Cxx

