Mitten Smitten

January saw us through some pretty blistery and cold evenings and I spent most of the month wrapped up in multiple layers whenever braving the cold outside.

With the arrival of February – the days are getting longer, the sun is starting to let off a few warming rays and the sleeveless coats are once again an option when getting dressed in the morning.

 

FullSizeRender[1] copy

I have a gazillion white shirts in my wardrobe (you could call it an addiction) but if you ask me, nothing beats a crisp white shirt teamed with a pair of jeans and a statement necklace when you’re going for that casual-chic daytime look. Throw a sleeveless coat over it and team with boots, a classic bag and bright red lips and you’re pretty much ready for anything the day might throw at you (apart from rain, you’ll need a brolly for that).

FullSizeRender copy.jpg

IMG_5227

It might be slightly warmer in the sun but it still feels pretty nippy here in London so my pair of hand knitted mittens are perfect for keeping the chill off.

I made few pairs of these as Christmas presents for friends last year as I loved the super cute heart pattern (which is free to download!) and they were fairly quick to make.

During the holidays at home in Norway I was walking in to town with my friend and as we were batteling the winds and snow with our brolly’s I look over at my friend and she’s wearing the pair I made her. Me on the other hand was not wearing any mittens at all.. I had of course been so busy knitting for everyone else that I hadn’t even thought that maybe I could do with a pair as well!

FullSizeRender[2] copy

IMG_5229

IMG_5228

These mittens have been so addictive I’m actually working on a pair for another friend atm and being a small project I can get it done while commuting to work.

You can see the other colours I’ve done here should you wish to make a pair of these for yourself, or someone else for that matter!

Outfit: Coat – Zara, Shirt – Gina Tricot, Jeans – Asos, Bag – Michael Kors, Boots – Miss KG, watch – Cluse, necklace – H&M, mittens – hand knitted.

Cxx

 

 

